How To Get The Most Out Of Your App: An App Developer's Guide To Pricing Tests


If you plan on developing an app, when you think about pricing, the first question that comes to mind is, how much should your app cost?

Creating an app can require significant time, effort, and financial resources. With a large number of apps available in the Apple Store and Google Play, it may be difficult to find a niche market or specific function that your app will have. That is when pricing becomes essential.

The pricing strategy of an app is how one decides the price at which they want to sell the mobile application or what price should be set for an individual application. Mobile app pricing is one of the difficult and crucial elements of mobile app development. It is a must to apply the correct pricing strategy if you want your app to get noticed on the app store. There are many factors to consider when selecting the right pricing strategy for your mobile app. In this article, we will explain the necessary actions and analyses you can make for mobile app pricing.

Get Started on Determining the Pricing Strategy For Your App

Pricing is just one of the many factors that contribute to a subscription-based app’s long-term success. Other variables include the existence of similar offers on the market and customer purchasing power. If a customer has a strong preference for your product, they may be willing to pay more. By testing different price ranges, you can determine what price yields the highest profit margin.

Before conducting a pricing test, the first thing you should do is define a testing objective. What kind of outcome do you need for your next strategy? You can choose an objective such as increasing your conversion rate or lifetime value, decreasing your acquisition cost, etc. After deciding on an objective, you should create different hypotheses to help you reach the outcome you need as the next step. For example, “If I create a trial, I will lower my acquisition cost” can be considered as defining a target.

It’s important to take a look at the previous pricing strategies that’s been used in your app. Which prices worked the best? The outcomes also change for each country. As Cherry, we’re looking at the database of your app and analyzing all the prices that have been tried before for each country. This approach shows us what kind of strategy works best for your app. It also helps us see where your app is standing in terms of pricing, and how to take the next step.

After seeing and analyzing the results, it could be best if you can predict the conversion rate and lifetime value of each package. If you can’t, working with a professional pricing team can help you get a long way on your pricing efforts, and reach the maximum results.

After the analyses you’ve made, you can start your testing stage. In this step, you should conduct A/B tests. But what’s an A/B test?

A/B Testing

A/B testing is a user experience research methodology.*  This method provides a way to compare two versions of a single variable, such as comparing variant A against variant B to see which performs better. In this case, you can compare the two different pricing you’ve created for your app. As a result, one variant will outperform the other, so you can see which version will convert better.

A/B testing is used to identify the best possible user experience and deliver the best possible results. A/B testing is particularly useful when it’s used to target mobile app users based on a specific geographic region or country. You can use this test for your ads, as well as your pricing strategy. For example, by exposing two different prices to two smaller but similar audiences, you will see the outcome of each and use the one with a higher conversion rate. Thus, you can reach the best possible outcome for your pricing strategy.

When the test reaches out to enough users, it can be closed. When you compare the previous outcome with the result of the test, you should see an improvement to end your test successfully. The improvement rate should increase at least 20% or more. And after that, you can use this new proven way as the next strategy for your mobile app. And change the prices accordingly on each country you’ve made a test on. And now, your app will be stronger and you’re ready to reach more installs and subscriptions!


The pricing strategy of your mobile app depends on various factors like the target market, team size, quality and features of your mobile app, etc.

You may have also read that you should determine the end value of your app to be able to set the right price. The only problem is that if you have no idea how to calculate the value of a particular app, then figuring out a profitable price may be a hard task to take.

If you are on a tight budget, you can work with a publishing company like Cherry.

Cherry works with a partnership model that allows qualified mobile apps to reach their target audience, without the creators of the app spending a dime. Since marketing a mobile app is an expensive job that requires expertise from several fields, you will be able to make the most of your app and reach your users worldwide.

So, if you are interested and would like to know more, 
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The Art Of Retention 02: Key Strategies to Prevent Churn and Keep Your Users

Keeping customers happy—and therefore helping to prevent them from churning—is one of the most important aspects of a mobile marketing strategy. For a number of reasons, mobile app developers have been focusing on churn prevention.

Mobile customer churn is a top concern for marketers. The cost of acquiring a new customer is often much higher than the cost of retaining an existing one. To minimize the risk of churn and keep customers happy, marketers need to focus on retention. Keeping your customers engaged and involved with your brand builds loyalty and ensures the longevity of your business.

Strategies for stopping the churn rate can be a life-safer for your app. According to several metrics, the mobile apps that create a strong consumer base are the ones that thrive and grow. Keeping your customers involved and excited ensures their loyalty and keeps your business healthy. In this article, we will explain how you can decrease your churn rate and encourage your users to keep using your app.

What Does Churn Rate Mean For Mobile Apps?

App churn rate is a common metric used to measure success and is the percentage of users who uninstall or stop engaging with an app over time. The average app retention rate is measured at 1 day, 7 days, and 30 days after users first install the app. Since retention rate means the number of users who’ve stayed in the app, the churn rate is the opposite of this metric. In this way, you can calculate the churn rate of your mobile app with this formula: (1 - Retention Rate = Churn Rate)

As an app developer, paying attention to your churn rate will help you a lot in several ways.

How To Stop Your Users From Churn

If a user is about to churn your app, you can take a few steps to stop them. The first step is finding the reason behind the churn decision, the second step is learning about the users, and the third step is rebuilding connections. You can use the information you’ve gathered from the last step to prevent future churns.

1- Finding Out The Churn Decision

App companies have availability to certain tools to find the churn reasons. In this way, the reason to churn can be discovered based on metrics with these tools. Also, users, who still have your app but not using it can also be considered churned users.

A user’s reason to leave your app can be the result of several things. The onboarding of the app might not be informative enough, and your app might have technical issues. Maybe the pricing of the app might be expensive or your user might have faced billing issues with your app. When you discover the reasons, you can start to understand the user's perspective and become prepared to take the next action.

2- Learning About Your User Profile

The second step you can take for reducing your churn rate is having a closer look at your users and getting to know them a little deeper. Which country do they live in? What are their age, education, gender, marital status, or job status? This can allow you to determine how they engage with your app, and the possible challenges and frustrations they might have faced. But in the world of mobile apps, data gives us the most accurate outcome and helps you to learn where your app stands.

Segmentation of your users will give you the accurate results you need in this step, and users can be segmented with the tools used by app companies. You can also receive the phone number or email address of your users, or send them push notifications.

3- Connecting With The Users

The next step is creating a hypothesis around why they decided to churn your app. And according to your hypothesis, you can reach out to them, and change their churn decision. There are dynamic paywall tools and in-app notification tools to connect with your users, which are generally used by app companies.

By reconnecting, you can showcase the functions of your app that might benefit the group of users who might be interested. App developers can also inform their users who’ve churned their app about new features, or the features or issues that have been fixed. If the problems your users face cannot be resolved easily, you can help them with your customer support, if you have one.

A large number of churned users face billing issues on mobile apps. Make sure to send reminders to your users that their subscription is ending, their payments haven’t been received, so they can make their payment.

The companies or services you’ve stopped using, generally ask why you left and may send you a survey to find out why. They may also send special offers, and different services, or explain to you how you can use or benefit from their services in the best way. These strategies are used by mobile apps too. It works well to reduce your churn rate and gain some of your users back.

4- Preventing Possible Churns In The Future

Now that you’ve gained a lot of insights about why people churn your app, who they are, and the issues they might have faced you can use these steps to prevent a possible churn in the future.

Think about the users who generally leave your app, and create a journey or roadmap for your similar, current users. If they’ve left your app because of technical issues, make sure to fix them. If they need to be assisted or informed in the specific steps inside of your app, you can create pop-ups or screens that are helpful or informative. If the churn reason is generally about pricing or billing issues, make sure to arrange them in the best way that users will prefer. And with these strategies, you can prevent possible future churns, and improve the weak sides of your app.

Grace Period

Handling payments can be time-consuming both for the user and developer. Most often, problems with payment occur because of billing issues. That’s why a grace period can be helpful to recover lost revenue and keep your users satisfied.

Apple’s Grace Period is a powerful tool to improve your app’s retention. This service is generally overlooked by developers, but it’s a life-saving tool to enhance your retention and decrease your churn rate. As we’ve discussed, billing problems are one of the top reasons users churn. With the grace period, Apple allows churned users some time based on their subscription period, to renew their payment. If users are able to renew their subscription during the given time, developers earn a profit from these missing days.

The time provided by Apple is called “Billing Retry State” and the company gives 6 days for weekly subscriptions and 16 days for monthly or longer subscriptions for the renewal.

Image Credit: Apple

The grace period should be enabled for mobile apps in order to work, and it’s a great opportunity and a life-safer for both users and developers. Users can have some time to renew their subscriptions and not lose the information they have in the app. And developers will be able to recover the money lost during these missing days. For more information and details, you can visit this Grace Period page of Apple.



To sum up, it’s easier than ever to measure your mobile churn rates. And if you can quantify the losses you’re experiencing, you can make informed decisions about what steps to take next. You can quantify your losses and apply best practices to minimize churn and thereby empower your mobile marketing strategy.

In the end, all these strategies are designed to make it easier for you to talk to your customers and get them engaged with your business. When your users don’t churn, they can become loyal users, and so you can rest easy knowing that you’re not going to lose your profit and user satisfaction over time. And even if you’re a beginner in app development or app marketing, you can access advanced tools by partnering with Cherry. As an app publishing company, Cherry uses advanced tools and has a professional team to handle all the marketing processes of your app. With the data-oriented approach and a high level of budget, you can market your app worldwide. To get started, submit your app and get your product tested by us in order to be marketed. The marketing you need is possible with Cherry. Submit your app and learn more.

So, if you are interested and would like to know more,

please drop us an email: “

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LTV 101: The Complete Guide Of the Most Important Metric for Your Mobile App

As an app developer, you aim to build a sustainable revenue model for your app. And on your way to building that model, some metrics are essential for earning income streams. The lifetime value of your app is the core metric for understanding how well your app is doing and one of the single most important concepts to grasp in mobile app marketing. Lifetime value (LTV) can help you measure your current and future marketing efforts.

In this post, we will break down what it is, how to calculate it, and how it can impact your mobile app business. This guide will take you through everything you need to know about LTV, so you can take full advantage of the insights it can provide.

What Is LTV In Mobile Marketing?

Customer lifetime value (CLV or often CLTV), lifetime customer value (LCV), or lifetime value (LTV) is a prediction of the net profit contributed to the whole future relationship with a customer.*  By calculating and keeping an eye on the customer lifetime value, or LTV, you can optimize revenue streams of your app such as “in-app advertising”, “in-app purchases” and subscriptions. With LTV you will be able to calculate how much money you can afford to spend on your marketing operations to get more users.

In conclusion, Lifetime Value is a key metric that measures the profit from your customer over their lifetime or the revenue you can expect to receive from them.  

Why Should I Calculate The LTV Of My App?

LTV can be an important indicator of how well your mobile app is faring. As you are growing your mobile app business and increasing the number of customers, it’s essential to know which of these customers will become the “best” ones so you can create the best experience for your most loyal audience who are willing to pay for your app.

By calculating an LTV you don’t only solve this problem but also strengthen your app’s marketing plan. You can manage your spending, minimize the risks, understand different profiles of your users, and create more resources for the users who have a high lifetime value. In this sense, you can maintain your current users, and acquire new users with the most profitable strategy for your app by calculating the lifetime value.

How To Calculate LTV For Mobile Apps?

If your app is based on a monthly subscription model, you can calculate the LTV by finding out two metrics first: the average monthly amount you expect from each customer, and your churn rate, the rate that shows how many customers you lose each month.

For example, if your app charges $30 from users monthly, and your churn rate is 5%, the lifetime value of your new customer will be 30/0.05= $600. This means the lifetime of your customer is expected to be 20 months.

1- Basic Formula

Now that you’ve gained a general understanding of LTV, you can take a look at the basic formula to discover it a little further. This formula is good for starters and is used by SaaS companies often.

LTV Formula - Basic

        Image credits: Chartmogul

ARPA stands for “Average Revenue Per Account”, Gross Margin means the difference between revenue and Cost of Goods Sold, and Customer Churn Rate shows the users who’ve canceled their subscriptions.

2- Advanced Formula

Also, here’s one more example of LTV calculation. This is one of the advanced levels of calculations that can help you gain an understanding of the process.

LTV = sum(Retention Rates*) x Price x ( 1-Refund Rate) x (1-Apple's Commission**)

While several advanced level lifetime value calculations can be made for mobile apps, the outcome will change depending on your app and many other factors such as subscription plans, offerings, customer profiles of your app, etc. As a publishing company, Cherry calculates the Lifetime value of mobile apps with a pricing team of professionals. Reaching the most accurate number by creating a deep-dive analysis, Cherry handles each and every aspect of the value of a mobile app and creates the most profitable strategy according to the results.

How To Improve the LTV of your mobile app?

After you’ve calculated the lifetime value of your app, you can analyze the metric you’ve reached to understand where your app stands in many ways. You can discover your most profitable customers (age, gender, location, etc.), channels (organic search, social media, ads, etc.) as well as the lifecycle of your users, and improve each element in the most profitable way for your app.

This process requires a certain time and expertise, but you can work with Cherry to find out which parts of your app need to be upgraded and resolved, and our pricing team will calculate and create the best strategy based on the needs of your app.

By now, you have a better understanding of LTV for mobile apps. When considering how to use it, you’ll definitely want to run a few cost-benefit analyses and make sure you can justify the increased costs of acquiring users. These models are both incredibly complex, so there’s no one right way to apply them to your mobile app. However, by paying attention to the figures involved, and getting the help you need when it feels like a hard task, you can make sure that your app is sustainable over the long run.

Whether you’re creating an app for a business or a consumer, you should always take these metrics into consideration. They’ll be the determining factors in whether your app hits the market or not, so think carefully about what your LTV is going to be before you place any bets.

So, if you are interested and would like to know more,

please drop us an email: “

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The Art of Acquisition 04: The Best Social Media Channels To Marketing Your App In 2022

In our previous articles, we’ve covered the two acquisition platforms, App Store and Google Play Store. In this article, we will discover other channels that are also beneficial and support the marketing of your app from different sides.

When promoting a mobile app, you may aim for different outcomes such as driving downloads, increasing customer retention, encouraging people to share the app, etc. There are plenty of ways to go about mobile app marketing and connect with your audience for your different needs. Let’s discover each one of them and find new ways to distribute and market mobile apps.

1- Facebook

The platform that introduced the world to the term “social network”, Facebook encouraged us to discover a new way to build and stay in connection with our family and friends. The social platform helped shape other social channels as well. Today the network continues to be a pioneer for the future with metaverse, and it’s still a strong place for marketing, as well as marketing mobile apps.

It’s best for the mass audience, 70% of the US adults use the Facebook platform every day. Also, it’s estimated that Facebook usage is high among US adults who earn more than $70k annually. Depending on your app and the outcome you need, this social channel should be on your list.

You can advertise your app on Facebook with two call-to-action buttons, one is “Install” and the other is called “link clicks”. Depending on your advertising goals, you can choose one and have the benefits of advanced targeting options of Facebook.

2- Twitter

Via: Twitter

Twitter is one of the best platforms to engage with your audience, show your brand’s personality and spread your message, as well as get in connection with specific and niche audiences that may need your mobile app. As of now, the social channel has 396.5 million users worldwide, and 206 million users access Twitter daily.

In this platform, you can see people talk about so many topics, discover different communities that can be relevant to your app’s niche, join a conversation, and get discovered with your ads.

Twitter has three options for app install campaign;

• Image Ads with App Buttons
• Video Ads with App Buttons
• Carousel Ads

You can advertise with either static or dynamic visuals with an app button, or you can showcase multiple images or photos if you choose to advertise with the carousel ads.

3- Instagram

Instagram has been in our life for more than 11 years and is still going strong. The social network continuously makes updates and improvements such as chat, stories, filters, shop, reels and can renew itself as a fresh and up-to-date platform for the user’s needs.

Over 1 billion users are using Instagram every month, and it’s a very popular platform for users between 18-24 years old.*

You can advertise your app to the placements such as

• Feed,
• Story,
• In-article
• Explore,
• IGTV or
• Reels.

You can display static or dynamic forms of visuals with the call-to-action you select and start advertising.

4- TikTok

Via: TikTok

The popular social media channel TikTok has taken over the marketing industry with its storm. According to the latest press release from TikTok, the social media platform has 1 billion active users every month and it’s estimated that the number will continue to rise. While 48% of the users are adults, the opportunity of the social platform has definitely been impossible.

TikTok has an advertisement option for apps that are called “App Installs”. Which’s an ad type that’s specifically created for mobile apps. The platform is a great place to reach the Generation Z audience.

• Infeed
• Top view
• Branded hashtag, and
• Brand effect (something like an Instagram filter) are the advertising options in TikTok you can use.

5- YouTube

The go-to place for videos on the internet, YouTube has been in our life for almost every industry, topic, and niche. In this platform, it’s possible to reach a mass community from almost every age. In 2022, the number of YouTube viewers is expected to hit 210 million in the US alone. YouTube is a perfect place for showcasing long-form videos, explaining any topic, issue, the solution you want to highlight, and providing your offer.

  • Skippable in-stream ads
  • Non-skippable in-stream ads
  • In-feed video ads
  • Bumper ads
  • Outstream ads
  • Masthead ads

are the placements you can use for your mobile app.

Understanding your mobile app’s branding and its target audience, finding which platform they’re spending time on the most, and reaching out to them with the right message and the right time is the key for marketing your app.

If you don’t know where to start, are not sure if your message is right, start from a limited budget, and don’t have a lot of time and expertise to put everything in order; you can get the help you need. Cherry is here to support developers on their journey to market their mobile apps. Submit your app to us, and if your app is qualified, you can get the marketing fuel to reach your users in the most effective way possible.

So, if you are interested and would like to know more,

please drop us an email: “

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Google Play Store 101: An Introduction & Guide For Mobile Developers

The Google Play Store is the official app marketplace launched by Google. It has become the largest app store in its niche and offers a variety of services to help users thereof. The Google Play Store was first introduced on October 22, 2008, and the next day, its app store was opened to Android users.

The Google Play Store is a source for all Android applications, created by developers from around the world. It’s even more than that: it’s a thriving ecosystem of over 2 million apps and an audience of over 1 billion users. If you are interested in creating your own applications and building your career as an Android developer, this guide will help you to gain a better understanding of the platform.

What Is Google Play Store?

Google Play Store is an online store where people go to find and enjoy mobile apps, games, movies, TV shows, books, and more on their Android devices.*

How Do I Download Google Play Store?

As The Google Play Store provides on their website, The Play Store app comes pre-installed on Android devices that support Google Play and can be downloaded on some Chromebooks.*

What Is The Purpose Of The Google Play Store?

Besides being the go-to place for Android devices, Play Store has so much to offer. Being available in 190 countries and partners with developers from all over the world, Google Play Store helps them to distribute their apps in an affordable way and supports them with its large guide library.

Does The Google Play Store Cost Money?

Downloading Google Play Store doesn’t cost money. But if you want to install mobile apps that require payment, you need to pay the amount of money the app requires.

If you want to buy or rent books, movies & TV shows from the store, you should also pay the required money depending on what you wish to buy.

Also, if you’re a developer and want to publish your android app on the Google Play Store, you should create a developer account and pay a certain amount fee, which is $25 for a year.

What Is The Difference Between Play Store And App Store?

Both stores have different characteristics, advantages, and disadvantages. You can examine which one is beneficial for your app and make your decision accordingly. Or your app can be in both stores, too, if you’ve developed your mobile app in this way.

App Store

• A platform for iOS devices
• Yearly fee is $100 for creating a developer account
• Has strict policies for publishing app and advertising
• Security level is very high
• Accepts apps with a certain, and a higher standard than Play Store
• Competition is high
• A more popular place that can provide more revenue depending on the app

Google Play Store

• A Platform for android devices
• Yearly fee is $25 for creating a developer account
• Policies for publishing app and advertising is not as strict as in the App Store u
• More developer-friendly
• Has a large guide library for developers
• Has too many apps that do not have a high standard
• Reviews and refunds are faster and easier
• Has advanced category section

Google Play Books 

Google Play Books is in the books section of Google Play Store, the platform has e-books and audiobooks you can buy and download from their library. The e-book distribution service has more than 5 million e-book offerings, and you can use them on your mobile phone as well as a kindle, and audible apps.

The platform showcase deals, offerings, books based on different topics such as self-help, work, romance, etc., and you can also find comic books, school books, and children's books in the Play Store.

Google Play Movies & TV

Google Play Movies & TV is another section in the Google Play Store, where you can rent and buy movies and TV show episodes. You can see the recent releases, recommended for you section, offers, and deals, also popular movies & TV shows in the service.

Google Play: It’s a huge playground of opportunities to improve, promote and sell your app. By discovering each element of the platform, you will know where will you publish your app, what to expect, and how to maximize your efforts on your way to reach your android users.

Now that you’ve gained the information you need, you are doing the right footwork towards getting your app(s) up and running in no time. Learning the important information and basics about the platform is a great start. But if you need to take advanced actions, comprehensive marketing support, and expertise, Cherry is here to market your app, maximize all of your efforts and reach your potential users.


So, if you are interested and would like to know more,
please drop us an email: “

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App Store 101: An Introduction & Guide For Mobile Developers

Mobile App Stores have become the world’s most dominant online marketplace.

Apple App Store is a powerful engine for the discovery and distribution of digital products. It has enabled many companies and developers to achieve success. With over 50 billion downloads, the Apple App Store is a gold mine of opportunity.

To be a successful app developer, it is important to understand how the app store works. It’s no secret that the process can be quite complicated; so we’re here to break everything down for you.

What Is App Store, How Does It Work?

The Apple App Store is a digital distribution platform used for distributing a mixture of both first-party and third-party apps to iOS, iPadOS, watchOS, tvOS, and macOS. Each ecosystem is locked down to apps on the store except for macOS, where users can still download apps directly from the web.

It has become the single most profitable piece of software in history. It has changed how software applications are distributed and marketed, being responsible for the rise in mobile application development. As a result, the competition has grown fierce with rivals such as Google Play, Amazon Appstore, and Microsoft Store trying to achieve similar levels of success. However, while the store has become more challenging to get an app approved since 2013,  it still remains one of the top three app stores in terms of revenue and growth.

App Store: A Brief History & Fast Facts


When Did App Store Launch?

App Store was launched on July 10, 2008.

How Many Apps Are There In The App Store?

As of 2022, There are 1.96 Million available in the Apple App Store.

How Many Apps Are Free In The App Store?

Currently, 92.3% of the Apps are free in the Apple App Store.

What Are The Most Popular Categories In The App Store?

Game is the top category followed by Business and Education in the Apple App Store. These are the most popular app categories on the platform.

The Approval Process Of The App Store


Do All Apps Have To Be Approved By Apple?

Yes, each app that’s been submitted to App Store is assessed by the review team. Apple wants to create a safe and trusted place for its users, so every app on the Apple App Store should have a certain standard to keep the platform a qualified and reliable place for the audience.

How Long Does It Take To Get App Store Approval?

While the approval process of the Apple App Store usually takes 1-4 weeks, sometimes it can take more than that depending on the app.

Why Would Apple Reject An App?

These are the top three reasons why Apple App Store rejects an app:

1.  Incompleteness Of Metadata & URL’s
2.  Design & Localization Mistakes
3.  Performance: Inaccurate Metadata
(Source: Global App Testing)

Before you submit your app to the App Store, make sure all the information (your name, email, app ID, link, images, and logos of your app) is accurate and true. Besides the main information, you will provide to the app store, make sure to double-check your app’s description, title and subtitle. Each content element of your app should be relevant and complete.

If your app is cleaned from all the crashes and bugs, you should also make sure that you have a strong UI and follow the required guideline properly. Click Apple App Store Review Guidelines to learn more information.


What is TestFlight used for? What is TestFlight in App Store?

TestFlight is the ideal solution for app developers and designers looking to beta test their app or beta test private, enterprise apps. With a variety of ways to send out your invites and valuable information about how testers can best provide input on your product, TestFlight offers all of the tools a developer needs to plan, recruit, and analyze—making it easily the most effective way for mobile app developers to get user feedback.

Is It Free To Use TestFlight?

If you’re beta testing other’s apps, TestFlight is free to use. As a developer, if you’re testing your own app, you should have a developer account to do so, which requires a certain amount of fee. 

How do you use TestFlight on iPhone?

After you’ve installed the App Store Connect, you should send invites to people who will be testing your app. The testers should download TestFlight app and enter the invitation code the app owner sends to them, in order to start testing.


In conclusion, the secret to success in the App Store is understanding it. You can’t just publish an app and hope for the best, you have to plan it and work at it, with a professional team that helps you analyze the store, understand your competition, and leverage your advantage with good planning.

Naturally, as the app store matures, the environment becomes more competitive but with planning and hard work you can still beat the odds. And whenever you need help to market your app and unlock its full potential, Cherry is here for you.

So, if you are interested and would like to know more,

please drop us an email: “

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The Art of Acquisition 03: Optimizing Google Play Store For Your App

There are over 5 million Android apps on Google Play Store worldwide.

In such a competitive business arena, Android app store optimization is an important strategy for higher app downloads. Improving your app store rankings and discoverability is the quickest way to increase downloads and reap the associated business benefits.

In this article you’ll find a bunch of actionable tips that will help you gain visibility in the Google Play Store, outwit your competitors and take advantage of the opportunities that are available for both developers and Android users.

Optimizing Your Product Page In Google Play Store

a) Choosing The Product Title And Screenshots

The first thing that users see in the Play Store search results when looking for an app is the title of the app. Titles and descriptions are very important, and Google Play allows you to have more control over these elements than Apple. For starters, titles must be unique for each of your products. You can have a different title for each language, and you can include up to 4 short descriptions for each language also.

You should use a keyword-rich title for two main reasons: one, to help the app rank higher in Google Play, and two, to attract users who are searching for that keyword. So, when choosing your title, here are some things you should consider: How relevant is it to your product? How competitive is your keyword? And how long should it be?

The images are always important! A nice cover photo will grab the attention of the user. Show off your app, or a screenshot that speaks to the value of your app. Since these images are shown in Google Play Store on mobile devices, ensure that they look good on a mobile screen. Remember that if users can’t see it or understand it, they won’t download it.

b) Category Section

The second important thing is the category section. When you are choosing a category for your app, make sure that it has enough competition but not too much. Choose a category with roughly 100-1000 other apps. If there are more than 1000 apps, this means that you have to compete with all the top apps which will be very hard for you. If there are less than 100 apps in the category, it won’t get much traffic compared to 1000 apps in one category.

c) Description

Unlike in the App Store, Google Play Store has two different descriptions, a long description and a short version of the same one. You should shortly grab the attention of users in the short one, without trying to put keywords, since it’s very short with only 80 characters.

For the long description, start with the first line of your description and look at it from a buyer’s perspective. The most important thing to remember is that you need to answer this question: Why would someone want to download your app. What is it that your app does? What makes it stand out? How does this benefit people? These questions should all be answered in the description so that people have a reason to try out the app, and potentially download it.

The description length of the Google Play Store is 4000 characters. You should also involve relevant and highly converting keywords for your app’s category, and repeat them as much as you can.

You can also include keywords in the developer name and your app’s URL as well since it’s important for android apps to get discovered.

d) Adding A Call-to-action Button On Your Product Page

You can improve conversion by using a call-to-action (CTA) button on your product page. A CTA is a way to communicate with users, giving them a clear action they should take next. By adding a ‘download’ or ‘get it now button on your product page, you can encourage users to take action and drive more installs to your app.

e) Promoting Your App Through Google

Google can be a relevant and powerful tool for promoting apps. With all the options available, it can be difficult to sort out how you should use Google Ads to promote your app in the most efficient manner. Think about your ideal outcome, do you need more installs? Or do you need more people to sign up for your app before it has launched?

It’s also important to make tests with different campaigns, in different countries. According to the best result you’ve received, you can concentrate on a specific message and country on your ads, and get more traction as a result.

You can make advertisements for your app on Google across Search, Play, Display, and YouTube platforms.* Let’s see which one is beneficial for your target and ideal outcome.

1- Search Ads

When you advertise on the Google Search Network, your ad can show near search results when someone searches with terms related to one of your keywords.*  For example, when you search “how to market your mobile app” on Google, the result on the top of the page is a search ad from Tik Tok.

2- Play Store Ads

You can advertise your app in the Play Store. In this type of ad, your ad includes your app icon, app name, developer name, your text ideas, and a link to a Play store listing, so people can install your app or sign up to be notified when the app is available.* It's also possible to advertise even before your app is available on the Play Store, and this type of campaign is called “App pre-registration


Image Source: Martech

3- Display Ads

Another advertisement format on Google is display ads. In this type of ad, you can engage with your users visually, and a short text that will explain the visual you showcase to your target audience. Your potential users can see your ad on websites, apps, and Google-owned platforms, such as YouTube and Gmail.

4- YouTube Ads

You can make a video form of an advertisement on Google, which will be displayed on YouTube. As you’ve learned on the search ads, video ads are also viewed and targeted for the people who’ve searched for similar keywords that your app has. Depending on your budget, strategy, or targeting, you can choose YouTube as your ad platform and reach your potential users in the right place. For example, if you want to advertise a fitness app, you can reach your ideal users by a video ad, to the people who’ve searched fitness-related words on Google.


The art of acquisition is a never-ending process, it requires a certain level of expertise in the field. Google has 1.4 billion+ users worldwide, which means that your app could potentially reach a wide target group of potential users. This fact should not be overlooked by developers and entrepreneurs, and it’s why they strive to get their apps featured in the Google Play Store and climb up the app store rankings.

If you are looking to maximize your revenue on Google Play Store, you need to be sure that you have the right strategies and the best tools to achieve your goal. Focus on the quality of your app, your product page, and your landing page, and always make sure that you are getting better results for each strategy.

If you need help, marketing budget, and expert’s view during these processes, Cherry is here for you.


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Subscription 101 - A Road For App Developers To More Revenue, And Longtime Success

Subscription-based apps are the future of the mobile app industry.

Today’s customers are more demanding and less loyal than ever before. They want their needs to be met, but they also want to be entertained. As a mobile app developer, you might find it difficult to meet these demands, and at the same time, you look for ways to utilize your apps to make money. And one of the most fundamental ways to make profits from an app is to offer subscription plans.

If you are planning on using a subscription-based business model to monetize your app, keep reading. Here’s everything you need to know and frequently asked questions by developers about the subscription model.

What Are Subscription-based Apps?

Subscription-based apps are the kinds of apps that sell repeatedly accessed services. In this sense, they are very similar to monthly magazine subscriptions, only instead of a physical copy, you're getting access to an app or program through your smartphone, tablet, or computer. They're also known as access-based apps.

Apple announced that subscription-based apps would be allowed in the App Store in 2016. Since then, more than 1/3 of all apps use it and subscription for iPhone became a popular business model.

What Are The Top Subscription Apps?

According to the latest metrics, YouTube, Disney+, Tinder, Pandora, Google One, Twitch, Bumble, HBO Max, Hulu, and ESPN are the top subscription-based apps in both stores. Entertainment, music, and dating services dominate the top-earning apps.


Image: sensortower

How Do Subscription-based Apps Work?
Subscription-based apps offer periodic (daily, weekly, monthly, seasonal, etc.) usage to their service. These apps provide a free trial for a limited time and then receive payment on a regular basis. 

Why Are All Apps Subscription-based? Why Do So Many Apps Have Subscriptions?

The advantages of using a subscription model for your mobile app,

1. Better Revenue Prediction & Cash Flow Management
2. Improved Customer Loyalty
3. Better Growth Opportunities
4. Higher Customer Engagement

So, as you can understand, from the biggest companies in the world to small businesses, seeing your future and having a repeated payment circulation is beneficial in every way.

Do subscription apps make money? How Much Do Subscription Apps Make?

The revenue of subscription-based apps increased to $13 billion in 2020, iOS was responsible for 79 percent of revenue. From 2016 to 2021, subscription-based apps continued to grow and are estimated to provide more revenue in the future.

Image credits: business of apps

Do You Pay Monthly For Apps?
Not all apps receive payment monthly. Each mobile app that’s working with a subscription model receives payment on a different time basis.

Daily, weekly, bi-weekly, monthly, semi-annual, yearly/annual, or seasonal are the time basis of subscription model businesses,* so as subscription-based apps.

Are Subscription Apps Worth It?
Subscription-based apps are primarily customer-driven applications. The user requests the product and is in charge of how much they want to use it, as well as when they want to use it.

These apps can send out notifications about new products and give the consumer the option of either canceling or resubscribing. Also, subscription-based apps can offer discounts to the users, since they can see the revenue they will get in the long run. So in the end, subscription-based models are worth it to use for developers and a smart and profitable choice to make the most of their mobile apps. We’ve covered why subscription-based apps are beneficial in our blog.

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Does Google Take A Cut Of In-App Purchases?
Google Play Store used to cut 30% in the first year, and 15% after a year from apps and in-app purchases.

But from the beginning of 2022, this amount of cut has been reduced to 15%.

Does Apple Take A Cut Of In-App Subscriptions?
App Store also cut 30% in the first year, and 15% in the second year from apps and in-app purchases. If you make less than $1 million in a year, App Store cuts 15% through Apple's App Store Small Business Program, if your app is qualified enough to their standards.

Building a mobile app adoption strategy is crucial if you want to succeed in today’s fierce competition. Mobile applications tend to go viral, attracting and racking up millions of users very quickly. Unfortunately, not every mobile app is lucky enough to get featured on the Apple App Store or Google Play Store for free.

In some cases, a subscription-based model could be the best choice for your mobile app. 


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Discoverability 101 - How To Make Your App Discovered & Reach More Users In 2022



As of 2022, 1.8 million apps are in the App Store and 2.5 million apps are available on Google Play Store, with a new one being added every couple of seconds.

Whether you have an iOS or Android app, you want to get your app in the hands of as many users as possible. Do you know how people discover apps in this competitive atmosphere? This can be easier said than done with so many apps out there like yours, what makes yours different enough to grab the attention of a consumer? Let’s uncover everything you need to know about how people discover mobile apps.

How Do Users Discover New Apps? How do People Find Apps To Download?

Most of the time, people engage in apps in a variety of ways which include browsing an app store, interacting with friends and other users, by watching ads, etc. According to a 2016 survey conducted by Google, the mobile world learned that %51 of the time, people discover new apps from their friends and family, following with browsing app stores, and recommendations.

From 2016 to 2022, we’ve seen many changes in terms of discoverability, such as Apple removing app preview from the apps you've already downloaded, so you can focus on other apps while you make searching on the App Store, for iOS 15. Click here to see all the upgrades and news about discoverability, and more.

App Store shares the details of app discovery here, you can also read Google Play Store’s information about discoverability on their website.

How To Increase App Downloads?

1- Optimize your App Store Page

To get more people to discover your app and hopefully download your app, as an app developer you’d like everything to be ready. You wouldn’t like to invite guests to your office if they can’t find your place or don’t know how to get there, or your place is disorganized and looks complicated.

Make sure you have a catchy app name and logo, relevant and original title and subtitle, as well as an informative and clear description to encourage your visitors to take action. Your mobile app should have an app page that’s visually and technically built well with every element and should be ready to be promoted.

This way, you can get more people to discover your app and get more downloads as well. Wanted to know more? You can read our blog on getting discovered and gaining subscribers, for more details.

2- Create A Good User Experience

When you’re developing your app, don’t ignore the design and user experience. Is your app easy to navigate? Can users enter and visit different parts of your app without being confused? Or else, you can waste the potential your mobile app has if they come and just because they didn’t understand what to do, they leave.

Visualize what your app will look like, make sketches, imagine what your potential users want and need and in which ways your app will solve their problem, and how your app will engage with them.

You should think technical and emotional at the same time. If your app page is strong enough to catch users and encouraging enough to get more users to download your app, the next step is to create a strong mobile app experience.

3- Make Advertisements on Apple Search Ads (ASA) or in Google Play Store

Making advertisements on Apple Search Ads and Google Play Store is another great way to reach more users. Since people discover new mobile apps inside app stores, you can find the right users at the right time. The algorithm of the app stores helps you to reach more targeted people so you can find the exact users who are interested in your app. But this step requires a certain budget and expertise, and we highly recommend developers to work with experts.

To create a succeeding mobile ad campaign and make the most of your budget, you need visually good ads that have persuasive and relevant content. We also recommend testing different ads and using the succeeding one in the long run. All these steps require time and specialty, which may cause a lot of trial and error if you try to conduct them on your own, and lose your money while trying to figure out these stages. If you want to learn more, you can read our blog about marketing platforms.

4- Measure The Conversion Of Your Visitors

Do you know how many people visited your app’s page? How many visitors does your app have, how many of them installed your app after the visit? And how much have these installs turned into a subscription?

These metrics will show you the problem area or succeeding area on your app’s acquisition funnel. Make sure that each step is informative, clear, and related enough, easy-to-navigate, easy-to-use so more visitors can become users of your app. If you have an iOS app, you can learn more about finding the analytics of your app from here.

How Do Apps Get Noticed In The App Store?

The App Store editors select, discover and analyze new mobile apps every day. App Store reveals that they have more than 150 editors from worldwide, and they also shared on their website that they highlight apps that are accessible, have an optimized product page, are localized, and have a strong UI. Besides technical requirements, they also highlight the mobile apps that are innovative, solve a unique problem or bring a new approach to solve a unique problem, etc.

App Store has strong attention to stories, so you can invest in the storytelling side of your mobile app or when you promote your app, you can consider using storytelling. To learn more, you can visit the App Store’s guidelines about getting featured.

If you’d like to submit your app to the App Store for getting featured, you can submit your app from here. Side note: Make sure to submit your app six to eight weeks before you launch.

How To Get 100K App Downloads?

There’s no secret formula to get 100K downloads or 1M downloads. Several factors affect the download number of your app: Such as can your app be used by a mass community? Do you provide a brand new or innovative solution or idea that people would like to use?

If you have a promising app that can pass marketing tests, an app publishing company can help you reach out to more users with the right strategy in a specific period of time.

"Try to get your first 100 users..."

How To Promote Your App For Free?

After you’ve created your app, the first users are probably your family and friends. So you can join different developer communities, share your app, ask for feedback and gain your first organic users after your close circle. For example, if you’ve developed an app for bikers, you can promote your app in communities and groups of bikers over the internet and social media.

Try to get your first 100 users, and then you can get your app to be seen, discovered by publishing companies or you can submit your app to publishing companies too. A partnership with a publishing company is another option to promote, and beyond promoting, market your app and reach more users worldwide free, and share the revenue in return. This is a perfect opportunity if you need more budget and don’t have money or time to market your app.


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App Publishing 101: Everything You Need To Know About Publishing Your App (2022 Guide)

Since Apple launched its App Store in 2008, app development has grown into a multi-billion dollar industry. Today we have an App Store with over 1.8 million apps. The annual income of an app developer is $101,899 per year, and $135 Billion is generated by the app industry as a whole. Where do you fit in?

In this article, we will share the details and the most important steps on your way to publishing your mobile application. We'll take a look at the information you need to publish your app and outline everything app developers need to know about app publishing.

What Is App Publishing?

Publishing is the general process that makes your applications available to users.* After you’ve developed your application, if your app is an android app, you can submit it to Google Play Store, or if it’s an iOS app, you can submit your product to the App Store. There are certain steps and requirements to publish your app. 

What’s An App Publishing Company?

An app publishing company works for getting your product to become its best version so that the product can be marketed and reach more users, installs, subscriptions, etc. An app publishing company has a pricing team, marketing team, content team, and creative team to optimize your app. These companies do market research in different countries, specify the best pricing and packages for your app, create the ideal app description text, title, subtitle, visuals, videos, and conduct ad campaigns and marketing tests. If you work with an app publishing company, this means you’re partnered with them. They invest in your app in terms of marketing, optimize it to its best version, and share the outcome in return. In other words, you don’t have to pay for your app or sell your app, and if you need more budget to reach your goals, you should definitely think about it. 

How Do You Get An App Published?

You're on the internet searching for how to publish a mobile app? There are different steps for publishing your app in Play Store and App Store. While Google and Apple have large and informative guidelines for publishing apps on their platforms, you can find several websites explaining how to publish your mobile app for android apps, as well as iOS apps. To make it short, you should open a developer account, and apply the requirements from each company (you can read the guidelines we've shared above) and if they approve, you can get your app published.

How Do I Market My App In 2022?

You can market your app by yourself, work with app marketing agencies or work with app publishing companies, like Cherry. Such publishing firms support your app from A to Z, going beyond its marketing and keeping your app improved continuously.

Is Publishing An App Free?

Publishing a mobile app is not free, you should pay a certain fee to open a developer account in app stores to publish your app.


How Much It Costs To Publish An App? 

Both Apple and Google require a certain fee to publish your app on their platform. You should open a developer account in each one, follow their requirements, and then submit your app. When you open a developer account, there’s a defined amount fee you should pay for each platform, which you can find below. These payments are paid on a yearly basis. 

As of 2022,

App Store Fee: $100 (for a year)

Google Play Store Fee: $25 (for a year)

You can also follow upcoming news and announcements of Apple for app developers from here.

Does Apple and Google Reduce Fee From Your App?

When you publish your app to the stores, Apple and Google reduce a certain amount of money from the yearly revenue. Starting from 2022, Google reduced the fee of subscription-based apps from 30% to 15%. And Apple cut %30 of your yearly earnings, only for the first year.

How Much Money Do App Publishing Companies Make in 2022?

t's not possible to provide a certain figure app publishing companies make because each app generates different revenue depending on several factors. But you can have an idea based on the yearly revenue of top app publishing companies.

If you are considering publishing your app, we hope these statistics and points will help you find the answer you’re looking for.

Crafting a successful app requires that you have a passion for software development, business foresight, and marketing savvy. If this sounds like something you would enjoy doing, then by all means go for it! Good luck in your app publishing endeavors. But if you're only into developing the best version of your product and have no idea about the business and the marketing side of things, don't dread it. Publishing companies like Cherry are here to help.


So, if you are interested and would like to know more,

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