Explaining Customer Acquisition Costs: How To Win App Store Optimization Race

Investing in marketing, sales, and customer acquisition are critical parts of getting your brand new app off the ground. But as time goes on, are you sinking costs upfront without seeing a return?

If you’re looking to understand how much it costs to acquire a customer for your app, you need to know what that number is currently. If you can apply the right strategy, and do some planning and metrics tracking, you’ll be able to make informed decisions that will allow you to minimize your Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) while maximizing revenue.

Avenues of app promotion can be quite expensive, and often not very effective. CAC (Customer Acquisition Cost) is a key metric that can allow you to make well-informed decisions when it comes to marketing, sales, customer acquisition, and everything in between.

Here are the important terms you need to know about Customer Acquisition Costs.

1- CTR (Click-Through-Rate)

CTR is a ratio showing how often people who see your ad or free product listing end up clicking it. This ratio can be used to gauge how well your keywords and ads, and free listings, are performing.* Click-through rate is the number of clicks your ad receives divided by the number of times it is shown or placed. For example, if you had 20 clicks and 100 impressions, then your CTR would be 20%.

Click-through rates are a factor in customer acquisition, particularly through paid advertising. You must consider click-through rates when running campaigns on an advertising network because the bids you set for your ads are based on cost per click. In addition, most ad networks display quality scores for each campaign and its corresponding ads, which are partially based on click-through rates.

2- Conversion Rate

Conversion Rate is the average number of conversions per ad interaction, shown as a percentage.*  This rate is calculated by dividing the number of conversions by the number of total ad interactions that can be tracked during a given period.

For example, if you had 30 conversions from 1,000 interactions, your conversion rate would be 3%, since 30 ÷ 1,000 = 3%.

The cost of acquisition is calculated based on the number of new customers acquired and their lifetime value. Improving your conversion rate means every dollar spent brings in more than one new customer, giving you greater value for your money. This reduces the cost of acquisition.

3- Install To Subscription

A user’s journey to your app has a stage, named “Installs to subscriptions” which implies convincing your customers to subscribe to your app. This stage has three elements, and they are paywall, subscription packages, and understanding of the characteristics of your app.

Paywalls are a form of content restriction that requires people to pay a fee in order to read or view the full content. They offer a few different models, each one can be beneficial for different types of apps. There are paywall models such as Hard, Soft, Freemium, and Dynamic. Each one appears at different times and offers a different payment method.

The next screen after the paywall (or during, if you use a dynamic paywall) your users will see is the subscription packages screen. This type of screen shows the subscription offers. Users can select one of them if they like to subscribe to your app. The packages can change the elements of your app, such as the loyalty level of your app, what kind of a service your app offers, can your services be used for a long period or short period of time, and the pricing of your packages.

Another important factor for converting installs to subscriptions is understanding the characteristics of your app.  What are your users' demographics, gender, income, country, and age? What kind of solution do you provide with your app? What are the usage habits of your users? The best way to be certain and work with solid facts is by conducting tests. Results of the tests will give you the information you need for the localization, design, and pricing stages for your app.

Understanding your app and its users will help you create the most relevant content, pricing and visual elements for your app and these actions will make it much easier to lower your customer acquisition cost. By creating an app that’s organically reachable and catches the attention of users, you will spend much less money acquiring new customers.

The Correlation Between Installs-To-Subs (ItS) And CAC

Based on the information we’ve shared above, you can see that the Install-to-subscription metric has a correlation with Customer Acquisition Cost. Knowing your ItS metric can give you the outcome of how much it costs to acquire a new customer. For example,

If you manage to have a CPI(Cost per Install) of $2.00 and your  Install-To-Subscription is %2, your Customer Acquisition Cost will be $100. Because for every 100 installs you’ll have 2 subscribers, so for 1 subscriber you’ll need 50 installs. Since you know that one install costs $2.00, multiplying that amount by 50 will yield the cost of one subscriber, which is $100.00 in this example.

There are also other elements you need to know that will evangelize your strategy and help you understand the mobile app marketing world in the best way.

The Power Of Creatives

Nowadays, the algorithm of platforms is becoming more inaccessible to outside interference, which is a very compelling fact for marketers. The best action that can be taken is optimizing visuals in today’s marketing world, creating the most compelling visuals is becoming more important than ever. 

The best way marketers, entrepreneurs, and developers can make the most of their campaigns are by creating the most captivating and converting visuals. In the competitive world of marketing, the visual language of your campaigns will be the most significant element of your campaigns. Even the algorithm of digital platforms is always changing and is hard to control therefore working with professionals will help you get a long way during this stage.

Test & Re-Test

Each app is unique, and so are its users. Considering that in the marketing world there is no one-size-fits-all strategy, the best thing to do is to find the way that will work for your app. And on your way to finding one, testing is what you should do often.

Which platform is working best for your app? Which countries do your ads have a higher rate in? The strategy should be to always optimize your campaigns and acquire more users while spending less. App creators should always watch the interactions of their campaigns closely. And the action of testing should continue until you reach the ideal outcome you wanted.

Testing may not be the most budget-friendly marketing element, you should have enough budget to conduct them often. And if you’re just getting started and don’t have a high budget, you can work with Cherry without spending a dime and a professional team can conduct marketing tests for you.

Break The Rules

The norms and the best practices can vary, and always following the rules may not be the best strategy to take. Discovering the differences between markets, users, and countries lie in breaking the rules. Marketing is feeling the moment and turning them into metrics. And the trends, beliefs, actions, and ideas are always changing. If you break the rules, you can discover new techniques and find the most beneficial strategy for your mobile app. We highly recommend not always following the best practices or following a certain path too rigidly.

Marketers, or anyone who will start marketing, should know that true and false can always change. For example, by conducting a new test, you can discover that your app is very popular in the working-class population in Japan. Or millennial moms in Europe might love your app and subscribe to your app. If you believe that your app can only be successful in the USA, this might prove to be a wrong belief. The only way to find the best outcome is by testing, and breaking the rules with the best visual and content strategy.

If you hesitate on applying these methods to your marketing strategy, the professional team Cherry can help you with it. Discover the world of Cherry and how you can market your app with our partnership model, without spending a dime.

So, if you are interested and would like to know more,

please drop us an email: “hello@getcherry.app

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Apple Search Ads 101: What Are They, And How Can You Use Them?

Apple Search Ads is Apple’s native advertising network – a collection of highly engaged audiences looking for an app that will solve their problem, or catch their attention. With favorable ads that blend into publisher content, Apple Search Ads offers a unique way to tap into new audiences and drive valuable installs.

If you are investing in Apple Search Ads, you probably want to make sure that your investment will be worth it. This is why the best way to start should be with a complete overview of everything that's possible with Apple Search Ads.

There is a lot to learn about Apple Search Ads. They have made some big changes recently and as a developer, getting your ads to perform well can be time-consuming and confusing. Here's everything you need to learn to master Apple Search Ads from A-Z.

What Is Apple Search Ads?

Apple Search Ads is the advertising platform that displays your ads in the App Store. It was launched by Apple in September 2017 to support its plans to become a significant mobile advertisement provider. According to Apple’s website;  “Apple Search Ads helps people discover your app when they search on the App Store, matching customers with your app right when they’re looking.”

Where Are Apple Search Ads Available?

Apple Search Ads are available in a lot of countries but there are still some countries where the platform is not available yet. According to the website of Apple Search Ads, advertisers in Apple are still trying to work on making the platform available for all countries.

You can see the list of countries ASA is available in from here.

How Effective Is Apple Search Ads?

The effectiveness of the platform may vary depending on your app, your ads, and your strategy. If utilized correctly, Apple Search Ads is considered to be one of the best ways of advertising your app and the data supports this claim.

As of 2022, App Store has 3.4 million apps and 984,000 games. 500 million people visit the App Store every week, and the reports prove that the platform is successful.

You can read the success stories shared by Apple Search Ads to learn more about how Apple Search Ads works and helps mobile apps reach success.

What is CPT in Apple Search Ads?

CPT is a Cost Per Tap model; this means you pay every time someone taps on your ad. Your CPT is calculated by dividing your total cost by the number of impressions you’ve received.

When bidding, you will set your Max CPT per Ad Group or Keyword Level. You will never be charged more than the Max CPT you set, but might lose out on bids if you do not decrease your CPT enough to be competitive with other advertisers.

What is CPA in Apple Search Ads?

CPA (cost-per-acquisition) is a metric that plays a key role when it comes to measuring the success of your Apple Search Ads campaigns. It mostly affects your bottom line. In order to ensure high ROI levels, you should test multiple ad sets at a time and identify the winning ones. In a way, it is affected by the Tap-Through rate, the Conversion Rate, and your CPT. Any weaknesses during your user acquisition process can end up increasing your acquisition costs.

How Do I Use Apple Search Ads?

You can read our article where we’ve covered how you can use Apple Search Ads and this article where we’ve covered Apple Search Ads optimization

Are Apple Search Ads Just For Apps?

Yes, Apple Search Ads is a platform that’s created for mobile apps. You can only advertise mobile apps and reach users who are searching for mobile apps.

What Is the Difference Between Apple Search Ads Basic And Advanced?

While the Basic option works with the cost-per-install (CPI) model and allows a maximum budget of $10.000 with up to 50 apps; the Advanced model allows much more options. The Advanced section of ASA allows an unlimited budget with an unlimited number of apps and gives full control of your bids and keywords. It allows catering your ads specifically to different audiences, regions, and more. This section also calculates your bids with a cost-per-click (CPC) model. It’s important to note that the Basic version of ASA doesn’t have these options and targets your audience by machine learning.

In other words, the Advanced section of ASA is where everything happens. Because you can display your ads to the users who are looking for your app. To learn more, you can read our blog where we’ve covered the topic in more detail.

How Do I Optimize Apple Search Ads?

You can read our article where we’ve covered how you can use Apple Search Ads and this article where we’ve covered Apple Search Ads optimization

How Does Apple Search Ads Work?

Apple Search Ads allow you to create highly relevant ad groups with one or more keywords, and target them by country, language, device type, and ‘App Category’. Apple App Search generates separate search queries for each of the 24 countries where it is available. The platform works by allowing you to bid on keywords so that your app can appear above organic search results when users type in relevant searches on their iPhones or iPads.


Apple Search Ads lets you set your own budget, target specific audiences, and measure your return on investment (ROI) with real-time data. It's also a great way to get people who have already downloaded your app to come back and use it again.

Depending on your keyword, bidding, and localization strategy, the ad platform helps you reach your potential users this way.


By now, you should be pretty familiar with Apple Search Ads. If you’re just getting started, you know the basics of what it is and how to set it up.  Apple Search Ads is a great way to maximize your App Store Page visibility. Through careful implementation and ongoing optimization, your Apple Search Ads could be one of the most beneficial places to achieve the goals you have for your mobile app.

The platform offers great opportunities for marketers to expand their reach, but diving into it without a strategy can lead to frustration. If Apple Search Ads seem overwhelming to you, don’t worry. We’re here to help. With our expertise in ad creation, you can rest assured that your campaign will be in good hands.

So, if you are interested and would like to know more,

please drop us an email: “hello@getcherry.app

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​​The Art of Acquisition 06: Discover Custom Product Pages & How To Optimize Them

Apple’s App Store is a hub for downloads for iPhone and iPad users, with new software powering more than 1.5 billion iOS devices around the world. But did you know that Apple’s popular mobile storefront also provides app creators with a way to build and promote new apps within its interface? With App Store product pages of iOS 15—which allow marketers to create custom versions of their App Store product page, highlighting specific features or pieces of content on each different page—app makers can reach customers more easily and actively engage with them on a personal level.

The ability to create unique product pages on the App Store is a relatively new feature, but it’s a major benefit nonetheless. This article explains what Custom Pages are, how you can use them, and why they’re important to your app marketing efforts.


Whether your app centers around its stunning visual design, revolutionary idea, or work-saving features and tools - you can share additional or customized information through multiple product page variants. Creating a custom product page for each feature allows you to highlight the benefits of your app while also increasing downloads and app store ratings.

Image Credits: Apple

In the custom product page example shared by App Store, you can see the app named “Mountain Climber” has three custom product pages for their different users, such as bikers, rock climbers, and backcountry hikers.

When Did The Custom Product Pages Upgrade Release?

The app store product pages were revealed by Apple for the first time at the World Wide Developer Conference (WWDC) in June where the release date was announced to befall of 2021. As of now, the feature is available to use.

What Are The iOS 15 Custom Product Page Updates?

* You can use custom product pages in iOS 15 and iPad 15, or later versions.

* On each product page, you can change screenshots, promotional text, and app previews.

* Each custom product page has a different audience with unique URLs.

You can create up to 35 different custom product pages based on your needs.

* While screenshots, promotional text, and app previews can change for each custom product page, the icon of the app will not. Each different product page will display the same logo of the app.

You can watch the video “Getting Started With The Custom Product Pages” on the Apple website.

How To Create And Optimize Custom Product Pages?

1- Determine Your Audience Profiles

Think about the users of your app. When you were creating the app, who was on your mind, and who would benefit from your product? Determine their age, demographics, country, gender, preferences, and interests. Outline how they would engage with your app, in which ways they need it and how they will use it, and create different personas.

2- Create Custom Pages For Each Persona

Based on different audience personas your app has, create a promotional text, app screenshots, or app preview video for each user persona.

3- Open App Store Connect Account

Sign in to your App Store Connect account, select your app, and you will see the “Custom Product Pages” on the left, in the “Features” section.

Upload the screenshots you’ve created, and submit them to be reviewed.

Image Credits: Apple

Product pages allow you to create a highly customized space for the product that you’re displaying. You can easily showcase the most important details, along with additional images, videos, and any other relevant information with the personal segmentation for each user persona.

It is also important to note that testing on a custom store page is not possible. That being said, if you are interested in learning the best ways to build custom store pages for your product or service, you can work with our professional team to maximize your efforts, without having to pay for it. Cherry can help you walk through this process and help you reach your users worldwide.

So, if you are interested and would like to know more,

please drop us an email: “hello@getcherry.app

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App Store 101: An Introduction & Guide For Mobile Developers

Mobile App Stores have become the world’s most dominant online marketplace.

Apple App Store is a powerful engine for the discovery and distribution of digital products. It has enabled many companies and developers to achieve success. With over 50 billion downloads, the Apple App Store is a gold mine of opportunity.

To be a successful app developer, it is important to understand how the app store works. It’s no secret that the process can be quite complicated; so we’re here to break everything down for you.

What Is App Store, How Does It Work?

The Apple App Store is a digital distribution platform used for distributing a mixture of both first-party and third-party apps to iOS, iPadOS, watchOS, tvOS, and macOS. Each ecosystem is locked down to apps on the store except for macOS, where users can still download apps directly from the web.

It has become the single most profitable piece of software in history. It has changed how software applications are distributed and marketed, being responsible for the rise in mobile application development. As a result, the competition has grown fierce with rivals such as Google Play, Amazon Appstore, and Microsoft Store trying to achieve similar levels of success. However, while the store has become more challenging to get an app approved since 2013,  it still remains one of the top three app stores in terms of revenue and growth.

App Store: A Brief History & Fast Facts


When Did App Store Launch?

App Store was launched on July 10, 2008.

How Many Apps Are There In The App Store?

As of 2022, There are 1.96 Million available in the Apple App Store.

How Many Apps Are Free In The App Store?

Currently, 92.3% of the Apps are free in the Apple App Store.

What Are The Most Popular Categories In The App Store?

Game is the top category followed by Business and Education in the Apple App Store. These are the most popular app categories on the platform.

The Approval Process Of The App Store


Do All Apps Have To Be Approved By Apple?

Yes, each app that’s been submitted to App Store is assessed by the review team. Apple wants to create a safe and trusted place for its users, so every app on the Apple App Store should have a certain standard to keep the platform a qualified and reliable place for the audience.

How Long Does It Take To Get App Store Approval?

While the approval process of the Apple App Store usually takes 1-4 weeks, sometimes it can take more than that depending on the app.

Why Would Apple Reject An App?

These are the top three reasons why Apple App Store rejects an app:

1.  Incompleteness Of Metadata & URL’s
2.  Design & Localization Mistakes
3.  Performance: Inaccurate Metadata
(Source: Global App Testing)

Before you submit your app to the App Store, make sure all the information (your name, email, app ID, link, images, and logos of your app) is accurate and true. Besides the main information, you will provide to the app store, make sure to double-check your app’s description, title and subtitle. Each content element of your app should be relevant and complete.

If your app is cleaned from all the crashes and bugs, you should also make sure that you have a strong UI and follow the required guideline properly. Click Apple App Store Review Guidelines to learn more information.


What is TestFlight used for? What is TestFlight in App Store?

TestFlight is the ideal solution for app developers and designers looking to beta test their app or beta test private, enterprise apps. With a variety of ways to send out your invites and valuable information about how testers can best provide input on your product, TestFlight offers all of the tools a developer needs to plan, recruit, and analyze—making it easily the most effective way for mobile app developers to get user feedback.

Is It Free To Use TestFlight?

If you’re beta testing other’s apps, TestFlight is free to use. As a developer, if you’re testing your own app, you should have a developer account to do so, which requires a certain amount of fee. 

How do you use TestFlight on iPhone?

After you’ve installed the App Store Connect, you should send invites to people who will be testing your app. The testers should download TestFlight app and enter the invitation code the app owner sends to them, in order to start testing.


In conclusion, the secret to success in the App Store is understanding it. You can’t just publish an app and hope for the best, you have to plan it and work at it, with a professional team that helps you analyze the store, understand your competition, and leverage your advantage with good planning.

Naturally, as the app store matures, the environment becomes more competitive but with planning and hard work you can still beat the odds. And whenever you need help to market your app and unlock its full potential, Cherry is here for you.

So, if you are interested and would like to know more,

please drop us an email: “hello@getcherry.app

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Discoverability 101 - How To Make Your App Discovered & Reach More Users In 2022



As of 2022, 1.8 million apps are in the App Store and 2.5 million apps are available on Google Play Store, with a new one being added every couple of seconds.

Whether you have an iOS or Android app, you want to get your app in the hands of as many users as possible. Do you know how people discover apps in this competitive atmosphere? This can be easier said than done with so many apps out there like yours, what makes yours different enough to grab the attention of a consumer? Let’s uncover everything you need to know about how people discover mobile apps.

How Do Users Discover New Apps? How do People Find Apps To Download?

Most of the time, people engage in apps in a variety of ways which include browsing an app store, interacting with friends and other users, by watching ads, etc. According to a 2016 survey conducted by Google, the mobile world learned that %51 of the time, people discover new apps from their friends and family, following with browsing app stores, and recommendations.

From 2016 to 2022, we’ve seen many changes in terms of discoverability, such as Apple removing app preview from the apps you've already downloaded, so you can focus on other apps while you make searching on the App Store, for iOS 15. Click here to see all the upgrades and news about discoverability, and more.

App Store shares the details of app discovery here, you can also read Google Play Store’s information about discoverability on their website.

How To Increase App Downloads?

1- Optimize your App Store Page

To get more people to discover your app and hopefully download your app, as an app developer you’d like everything to be ready. You wouldn’t like to invite guests to your office if they can’t find your place or don’t know how to get there, or your place is disorganized and looks complicated.

Make sure you have a catchy app name and logo, relevant and original title and subtitle, as well as an informative and clear description to encourage your visitors to take action. Your mobile app should have an app page that’s visually and technically built well with every element and should be ready to be promoted.

This way, you can get more people to discover your app and get more downloads as well. Wanted to know more? You can read our blog on getting discovered and gaining subscribers, for more details.

2- Create A Good User Experience

When you’re developing your app, don’t ignore the design and user experience. Is your app easy to navigate? Can users enter and visit different parts of your app without being confused? Or else, you can waste the potential your mobile app has if they come and just because they didn’t understand what to do, they leave.

Visualize what your app will look like, make sketches, imagine what your potential users want and need and in which ways your app will solve their problem, and how your app will engage with them.

You should think technical and emotional at the same time. If your app page is strong enough to catch users and encouraging enough to get more users to download your app, the next step is to create a strong mobile app experience.

3- Make Advertisements on Apple Search Ads (ASA) or in Google Play Store

Making advertisements on Apple Search Ads and Google Play Store is another great way to reach more users. Since people discover new mobile apps inside app stores, you can find the right users at the right time. The algorithm of the app stores helps you to reach more targeted people so you can find the exact users who are interested in your app. But this step requires a certain budget and expertise, and we highly recommend developers to work with experts.

To create a succeeding mobile ad campaign and make the most of your budget, you need visually good ads that have persuasive and relevant content. We also recommend testing different ads and using the succeeding one in the long run. All these steps require time and specialty, which may cause a lot of trial and error if you try to conduct them on your own, and lose your money while trying to figure out these stages. If you want to learn more, you can read our blog about marketing platforms.

4- Measure The Conversion Of Your Visitors

Do you know how many people visited your app’s page? How many visitors does your app have, how many of them installed your app after the visit? And how much have these installs turned into a subscription?

These metrics will show you the problem area or succeeding area on your app’s acquisition funnel. Make sure that each step is informative, clear, and related enough, easy-to-navigate, easy-to-use so more visitors can become users of your app. If you have an iOS app, you can learn more about finding the analytics of your app from here.

How Do Apps Get Noticed In The App Store?

The App Store editors select, discover and analyze new mobile apps every day. App Store reveals that they have more than 150 editors from worldwide, and they also shared on their website that they highlight apps that are accessible, have an optimized product page, are localized, and have a strong UI. Besides technical requirements, they also highlight the mobile apps that are innovative, solve a unique problem or bring a new approach to solve a unique problem, etc.

App Store has strong attention to stories, so you can invest in the storytelling side of your mobile app or when you promote your app, you can consider using storytelling. To learn more, you can visit the App Store’s guidelines about getting featured.

If you’d like to submit your app to the App Store for getting featured, you can submit your app from here. Side note: Make sure to submit your app six to eight weeks before you launch.

How To Get 100K App Downloads?

There’s no secret formula to get 100K downloads or 1M downloads. Several factors affect the download number of your app: Such as can your app be used by a mass community? Do you provide a brand new or innovative solution or idea that people would like to use?

If you have a promising app that can pass marketing tests, an app publishing company can help you reach out to more users with the right strategy in a specific period of time.

"Try to get your first 100 users..."

How To Promote Your App For Free?

After you’ve created your app, the first users are probably your family and friends. So you can join different developer communities, share your app, ask for feedback and gain your first organic users after your close circle. For example, if you’ve developed an app for bikers, you can promote your app in communities and groups of bikers over the internet and social media.

Try to get your first 100 users, and then you can get your app to be seen, discovered by publishing companies or you can submit your app to publishing companies too. A partnership with a publishing company is another option to promote, and beyond promoting, market your app and reach more users worldwide free, and share the revenue in return. This is a perfect opportunity if you need more budget and don’t have money or time to market your app.


So, if you are interested and would like to know more,

please drop us an email: “hello@getcherry.app”

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The Art of Acquisition 02: ASO & ASA

ptimization is an important stage of the app marketing strategy, and it’s important to use the right tools in order to make it more effective. In our previous article, The Art Of Acquisition 01: App Name, we’ve covered the first step you should take for the acquisition of your mobile app: app naming. In this article, we will continue with the required App Store elements, which are crucial for your app marketing strategy.

The art of acquisition for the app store has two elements:

1- Apple Search Optimization
2- Apple Search Ads

1- Apple Search Optimization

This is the first step of your strategy for the acquisition of your app. The page of your app is the first thing that users will see when they search for your app in the App Store.

The main goal of Apple Search Optimization is to make your app visible on the App Store search results. In order to do this, you need to have a clear understanding of what your target audience wants from your mobile app. You can get this information by conducting market research and marketing tests, but this action requires a certain amount of budget and expertise.

Title & Subtitle

Takeaway: Try to create an app name with valuable keywords so that it will show up in the search result, and reach more users. App titles and subtitles created with a specific strategy, for more details, take a look at our previous article. 

App Icon & Screenshots

Once your app title and subtitle are chosen, the next step is choosing the icon for your app and screenshots. The app should be represented by the icon and its essential features should be included in the screenshots. Also, it’s important to remember that each region has different dimensions for its apps so make sure you stay aware of them. It’s important to note that these screenshots must be high quality and clear enough for customers to understand what they are seeing.

You can also upload promotional videos to the App Store in order to show what your app is capable of in a more effective way. This will help you get more downloads and make your app more popular among people who are looking for apps that match their needs. For more details, check our article about app store elements.

Here’s an example of an optimized App Store page. The title, subtitle, and app store preview of this app have been recreated by Cherry.

App Description

The app description section in the App Store is a place where people learn all the details about your app. It’s one of the important parts of your app’s store page, which has a great impact on users’ decisions to download. The description is also the place where you can best express your app’s value proposition and brand essence.

Make sure that there are no spelling errors or typos in the description of your mobile app. As part of the App Store Optimization, you can also make the content more appealing to customers as well as searchable and reachable on the App Store. You can reach this goal by using specific keywords in your description, which will help the App Store to match up with the keywords that customers are searching for. And if you’ve done these steps, you can start making advertisements and conduct marketing tests for your app, if you have a budget.

Before you start to make advertisements on the app store, you should make sure that your app is 100% ready to be seen and discovered.

2- Apple Search Ads

Apple search ads (ASA) are an ad platform for Apple, where you can create brand awareness and installs for your app. Advertisers or app owners make specific biddings for each ad they’ve displayed, and bidding means the amount of budget you’re willing to spend for each click for a specific period of time.

If you are starting to display ads on this platform, ASA has two options; Basic and Advanced. While the Basic option works with the cost-per-install (CPI) model and allows a maximum budget of $10.000 with up to 50 apps; the Advanced model allows much more options. The Advanced section of ASA allows an unlimited budget with an unlimited number of apps, and gives full control of your bids, keywords; and targeting your ad specifically to different audiences, regions, and more. This section also calculates your bids with a cost-per-click (CPC) model. Also, it’s important to know that the Basic section of ASA doesn’t have these options and target your audience by machine learning.

In other words, the Advanced section of ASA is where everything happens. Because you can display your ads to the users who’re looking for your app. For example, if you have a health tracker app created for an older audience, a specifically targeted ad will be displayed for this audience. And you will be able to showcase different ads in different countries. So you won’t spend money to showcase your ads for people who’re not looking for your app. Showing your ads to people who’re interested in and will subscribe, will eventually create a repeated payment circulation.

Having a well-optimized App Store page is the first step to a successful campaign on Apple Search Ads because these two systems run parallel to each other. Having an optimized App Store page will help your app to reach relevant users, make the most of your campaigns, and have a high click-through-rate (CTR) score, which measures the conversion from an advertisement that users interact with by tapping. Having a high CTR score will help your app to reach more relevant users, and become more likely to appear in the top apps in the search results.

Optimizing your IOS app and keywords can give your app a better chance of visibility and discovery.  Apple Search Ads reveal that %65 of app downloads happen right after a visit to the App Store, and %70 of App Store visitors use search to find their next app. The marketing and creative team of Cherry can help optimize your mobile app to its maximum potential, drive more awareness, reach more users, and install rates And when you need help and mentorship from a team of experts, Cherry is here for you. 


So, if you are interested and would like to know more,

please drop us an email: “hello@getcherry.app”

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Art Of Acquisition 01: App Names

Finding a perfect app name is the first step in the art of acquisition. 

Do you know the required criteria for app names?


Photo By Grace Saraswati

Naming an app is a critical step, it directly affects your mobile app’s visibility, and will reflect its branding. It’s the first thing users will see about your app. An app name is the core part of an app; just as the app’s logo, UX design, app store preview, and subtitle.

This first stage of acquisition may not be an easy feat but learning the app name criteria that are required, and a spark of creativity can help you to reach the desired outcome. As a result, your app can get more downloads, impressions, and subscriptions. Each partner of the Cherry family undergoes a meticulous app name process in terms of branding, marketing, and keyword strategy with a team of experts.

Discover the 5 steps, and all the important criteria you can follow for finding a perfect mobile app name.

1- Keyword Selection (ASO)

Photo by James Yarema on Unsplash

As we’ve discussed in our blogs, App Store Optimization (ASO) is a tool that improves an app’s visibility in the App Store. Based on a variety of factors, apps are able to rank higher and get discovered more by your keyword selection. (You can read our previous blogs for more details.)

This is a crucial first step in the journey of acquisition since 70% of App Store visitors use search to find the app they’re looking for; also 65% of all downloads happen after the search. 

What’s your app’s purpose? 

What is your target audience looking for?

For starters, keywords have three main values: Volume, Difficulty, and Opportunity. The volume of a keyword shows how often the terms are being searched, and Difficulty shows how hard it is for an app to rank in the top 10 for a keyword. The other value, Opportunity is the outcome of Volume and Difficulty. The best spot for a keyword is having a high volume, low difficulty, and as an outcome, high opportunity.

You should build a keyword strategy based on these metrics, there’s a certain rate and ideal gap your keywords should contain. You can find ideal and relevant keywords with different tools, that will boost your app visibility.

"Creating relevant keywords that reflect your app’s core function, and the solution it provides is key for your acquisition strategy. "

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

What’s your app’s purpose?

What is your target audience looking for?

Think about long-term goals and branding style for your app, and in which ways it is unique. Make sure this unique value and difference are reflected in the name and subtitle.

The marketing team of Cherry makes a research process for each app, and makes the naming process in the most efficient way possible, applying all the required criteria from App Store.

Also, you should keep in mind that the values of each keyword may change really often, and it’s not a one-time job. Check in the values of the keyword you’re using in an app, and change when you see any difference, with the new keywords.

2- Subtitle 

Along with the app name, the subtitle is the second critique factor for mobile apps. The process is the same as the app name. A subtitle can be a maximum of 30 characters. Since subtitles appear next to the app name, they should support the name and give some details of the exact solution your app provides. 

A good mobile app name is…

a- Searchable

An ideal app name should contain the most-searched words with a high opportunity, and a low difficulty rate. As an app creator, it’s important to understand your users. What’re their searching habits? Which words are being used often?

b- Short & Relevant

The ideal mobile app name is simply short, easy-to-spell, understandable, and memorable. Also, it should sound and look relevant to the category and functionality of the app.

The name should not be hard to pronounce, read or write. A brandable and remarkable mobile app name should be so clear that it can almost describe itself to the users.

Photo by Tran Mau Tri Tam on Unsplash

c- Reflects Your app

What’s the core functionality of your mobile app? How it can differentiate itself from its competitors? Think about the biggest problem your app solves for its potential users, and how it solves it… And of course, why it should matter for people? Will they be emotionally connected to your app, or is your app help them to be more productive? 

The research part of the app naming might not be an easy task, and you can always get help from professionals at this step; who can help you reflect your app name in the best way that’ll be relevant to the users.

d- Creative & Tells A Story

Once you followed the required acquisition rules and keyword strategy, you can use a spark of creativity too. You can develop creative and original ideas in the app name, subtitle, as well as in your visuals; depending on the niche and the character, the unique quality of your app.

e- Not Being Taken

And last but not the least, make sure the name you’ve found for your app is not being taken, and legally available.

Here are some app name examples: 

File Manager is an app that allows users to keep different formats of files, and the app name is pretty clear about its functionality, also very simple and easy-to-remember.

Flipboard is an app that curates news and information for users’ interest, and you can flip between the boards while you make reading from the app. This is a creative and reflective example of an app name.

Storico, allows you to create beautiful Instagram stories with its templates. The app name is short, catchy, and reflective. 

Canva comes from the canvas. Since the app lets you create graphic design, this is also another creative and reflective example.

LogoScopic is the name of a logo maker app. The app name creates a powerful feeling and is built on a technical word, “scopic” which’s a to-the-point and strong name example.

So we’ve shared the required criteria for the app naming, and to sum up: What’s your app about? The answers you will be providing will help you to select the main features of your app. 

Think about the main problem that your app delivers a solution to. And explain this solution in the simplest way possible. And if you feel like you need help and mentorship from the experts, Cherry is here for you.

So, if you are interested and would like to know more,

please drop us an email: “hello@getcherry.app”

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