Explaining Customer Acquisition Costs: How To Win App Store Optimization Race

Investing in marketing, sales, and customer acquisition are critical parts of getting your brand new app off the ground. But as time goes on, are you sinking costs upfront without seeing a return?

If you’re looking to understand how much it costs to acquire a customer for your app, you need to know what that number is currently. If you can apply the right strategy, and do some planning and metrics tracking, you’ll be able to make informed decisions that will allow you to minimize your Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) while maximizing revenue.

Avenues of app promotion can be quite expensive, and often not very effective. CAC (Customer Acquisition Cost) is a key metric that can allow you to make well-informed decisions when it comes to marketing, sales, customer acquisition, and everything in between.

Here are the important terms you need to know about Customer Acquisition Costs.

1- CTR (Click-Through-Rate)

CTR is a ratio showing how often people who see your ad or free product listing end up clicking it. This ratio can be used to gauge how well your keywords and ads, and free listings, are performing.* Click-through rate is the number of clicks your ad receives divided by the number of times it is shown or placed. For example, if you had 20 clicks and 100 impressions, then your CTR would be 20%.

Click-through rates are a factor in customer acquisition, particularly through paid advertising. You must consider click-through rates when running campaigns on an advertising network because the bids you set for your ads are based on cost per click. In addition, most ad networks display quality scores for each campaign and its corresponding ads, which are partially based on click-through rates.

2- Conversion Rate

Conversion Rate is the average number of conversions per ad interaction, shown as a percentage.*  This rate is calculated by dividing the number of conversions by the number of total ad interactions that can be tracked during a given period.

For example, if you had 30 conversions from 1,000 interactions, your conversion rate would be 3%, since 30 ÷ 1,000 = 3%.

The cost of acquisition is calculated based on the number of new customers acquired and their lifetime value. Improving your conversion rate means every dollar spent brings in more than one new customer, giving you greater value for your money. This reduces the cost of acquisition.

3- Install To Subscription

A user’s journey to your app has a stage, named “Installs to subscriptions” which implies convincing your customers to subscribe to your app. This stage has three elements, and they are paywall, subscription packages, and understanding of the characteristics of your app.

Paywalls are a form of content restriction that requires people to pay a fee in order to read or view the full content. They offer a few different models, each one can be beneficial for different types of apps. There are paywall models such as Hard, Soft, Freemium, and Dynamic. Each one appears at different times and offers a different payment method.

The next screen after the paywall (or during, if you use a dynamic paywall) your users will see is the subscription packages screen. This type of screen shows the subscription offers. Users can select one of them if they like to subscribe to your app. The packages can change the elements of your app, such as the loyalty level of your app, what kind of a service your app offers, can your services be used for a long period or short period of time, and the pricing of your packages.

Another important factor for converting installs to subscriptions is understanding the characteristics of your app.  What are your users' demographics, gender, income, country, and age? What kind of solution do you provide with your app? What are the usage habits of your users? The best way to be certain and work with solid facts is by conducting tests. Results of the tests will give you the information you need for the localization, design, and pricing stages for your app.

Understanding your app and its users will help you create the most relevant content, pricing and visual elements for your app and these actions will make it much easier to lower your customer acquisition cost. By creating an app that’s organically reachable and catches the attention of users, you will spend much less money acquiring new customers.

The Correlation Between Installs-To-Subs (ItS) And CAC

Based on the information we’ve shared above, you can see that the Install-to-subscription metric has a correlation with Customer Acquisition Cost. Knowing your ItS metric can give you the outcome of how much it costs to acquire a new customer. For example,

If you manage to have a CPI(Cost per Install) of $2.00 and your  Install-To-Subscription is %2, your Customer Acquisition Cost will be $100. Because for every 100 installs you’ll have 2 subscribers, so for 1 subscriber you’ll need 50 installs. Since you know that one install costs $2.00, multiplying that amount by 50 will yield the cost of one subscriber, which is $100.00 in this example.

There are also other elements you need to know that will evangelize your strategy and help you understand the mobile app marketing world in the best way.

The Power Of Creatives

Nowadays, the algorithm of platforms is becoming more inaccessible to outside interference, which is a very compelling fact for marketers. The best action that can be taken is optimizing visuals in today’s marketing world, creating the most compelling visuals is becoming more important than ever. 

The best way marketers, entrepreneurs, and developers can make the most of their campaigns are by creating the most captivating and converting visuals. In the competitive world of marketing, the visual language of your campaigns will be the most significant element of your campaigns. Even the algorithm of digital platforms is always changing and is hard to control therefore working with professionals will help you get a long way during this stage.

Test & Re-Test

Each app is unique, and so are its users. Considering that in the marketing world there is no one-size-fits-all strategy, the best thing to do is to find the way that will work for your app. And on your way to finding one, testing is what you should do often.

Which platform is working best for your app? Which countries do your ads have a higher rate in? The strategy should be to always optimize your campaigns and acquire more users while spending less. App creators should always watch the interactions of their campaigns closely. And the action of testing should continue until you reach the ideal outcome you wanted.

Testing may not be the most budget-friendly marketing element, you should have enough budget to conduct them often. And if you’re just getting started and don’t have a high budget, you can work with Cherry without spending a dime and a professional team can conduct marketing tests for you.

Break The Rules

The norms and the best practices can vary, and always following the rules may not be the best strategy to take. Discovering the differences between markets, users, and countries lie in breaking the rules. Marketing is feeling the moment and turning them into metrics. And the trends, beliefs, actions, and ideas are always changing. If you break the rules, you can discover new techniques and find the most beneficial strategy for your mobile app. We highly recommend not always following the best practices or following a certain path too rigidly.

Marketers, or anyone who will start marketing, should know that true and false can always change. For example, by conducting a new test, you can discover that your app is very popular in the working-class population in Japan. Or millennial moms in Europe might love your app and subscribe to your app. If you believe that your app can only be successful in the USA, this might prove to be a wrong belief. The only way to find the best outcome is by testing, and breaking the rules with the best visual and content strategy.

If you hesitate on applying these methods to your marketing strategy, the professional team Cherry can help you with it. Discover the world of Cherry and how you can market your app with our partnership model, without spending a dime.

So, if you are interested and would like to know more,

please drop us an email: “hello@getcherry.app

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ASO 101: Learn App Store Optimization Strategies For Marketing Your App

App Store Optimization (ASO)—also known as ranking in the App Store—is among the most important marketing strategies for mobile apps. Despite the explosive growth of mobile app downloads, sales of mobile apps are dismal. While there’s little doubt that ASO can help grow your business, there are many myths surrounding it with one of the biggest beings that all app developers should invest in a paid ASO service. In this article, we will review the basics of ASO and highlight strategies you can apply to your mobile app.

What Is App Store Optimization?

App Store Optimization (ASO) refers to the process of improving visibility and increasing conversion rates in Apple's App Store, Google Play, Other alternatives for downloading apps include the Huawei App Gallery, Amazon App Store, and Samsung Galaxy Store. ASO includes optimizing the app's name, title, icon, screenshots, and rating for search optimization.

How Do I Improve App Store Optimization?

Optimization for app stores includes every element your app has on its product page. From your app’s title, keywords, description to screenshots, icons, and visuals, there are rules and upgrades you can apply to create each part of the product page of your app accordingly.

App Icon: The app icon of your app should reflect your app’s branding, character, and what your users are looking for.

App Screenshots: App screenshots should be also reflective, related and should look professional in terms of design, as well as the content. Texts you’re using in this section should be in accordance with the visuals. Also, screenshots should be convincing, encourage users to take action to install and subscribe, and reflect what your app is about in the best way. You can also gain more conversions by adding a promotional video here.

App Description: The length of this section is 4000 characters in both the App Store and Play Store. From beginning to the end, your content should be qualified in two ways: 1-Branding, 2- Interpretation, 3- Keywords.

The description of your app should maintain the branding, character, and general style your app has in its logo, title, icon, and screenshots. You should choose the appropriate tone and speak to your customers in an engaging way that will be relevant to them. In terms of interpretation, users should understand clearly what kind of service they’re offering, the trial time, and the subscription information. Users should not be confused by the content, and everything they need to know should be clearly revealed here.

Your app description should also have a keyword strategy depending on the app store your app is in. Google Play Store and App Store have different keyword strategies and optimization. For more information, you can read our blog posts about App Store Optimization and Google Play Store Optimization.

Downloads: Google Play and App Store rank apps based on the number of times they’ve been downloaded. As well as the overall download number, the current download number is also important. App stores rank your app higher if the installation circle keeps repeating an app.

Ratings & Reviews: Since rating affects conversions, and conversions affect app rankings; ratings and reviews are important for your optimization efforts even in an indirect way. So make sure you reply to your reviews, listen to advice, recommendation, and complaints your users share, and engage with them as much as possible.

App URL of your mobile app, and also the keyword field (you can see this section in the App Store Connect profile of your app) should also be optimized. Both places will affect your app’s ranking, so it’s important to choose related and strong keywords and create an App URL that reflects your app. 

How Does App Store Optimization Work?

App store optimization is the process of making apps rank higher in an app store's search results (such as the App Store or Windows Store). The higher your app ranks in an app store's search results, the more visible it is to potential customers. That increased visibility tends to translate into more traffic to your app's page in the app store. For example, if you use keywords with high search volume and opportunity scores, your app has a high chance to become more visible in the search results.

Why App Store Optimization Is Important?

If you optimize your app effectively, you can reach more users, installs, and subscriptions (if all of these stages are created accordingly) and make your app more visible. Optimizing your app is key for reaching your users, being discovered organically, and gaining more results from your advertising efforts. If your product is half done, not interpreted in a good way, and doesn't look good on its product page, it’s very hard to attract users and convince them to use and download your app. From beginning to end, each stage supports the others on your way to success.

How Do I Optimize Keywords In The App Store?

Keywords on the App Store have search volumes and opportunity values. You can start searching the keywords you will be using on App Annie, and make your selection accordingly. Also, keyword values are different for android apps and iOS apps.

What Are App Store Optimization Tools?

A robust data flow is what makes the mobile app industry tick. Having up-to-date analytical information allows you to rank your apps high and connect them with users. Some of the useful information available is provided by App Annie, Sensor Tower, Apptopia, AppsFlyer, App Tweak. They offer different services, as well as top new apps and information on how they got to the top. But during this stage, a professional view and working with an expert will help you reflect your data in a much better way. And you will be able to create the most relevant and successful content, visuals, and advertisements.


In conclusion, we highly encourage mobile app developers to conduct ASO for their mobile apps. While ASO can be time-consuming and requires expertise, it is necessary for the success of your app. These strategies can help you get started with this process in a cost-effective manner—but down the road, if you decide to reach even more success, Cherry can help you in the best way. If you want your app to gain rankings, downloads, and sales without ever having to pay any money to market your app, it is possible with Cherry.

So, if you are interested and would like to know more,

please drop us an email: “hello@getcherry.app

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Apple Search Ads 101: What Are They, And How Can You Use Them?

Apple Search Ads is Apple’s native advertising network – a collection of highly engaged audiences looking for an app that will solve their problem, or catch their attention. With favorable ads that blend into publisher content, Apple Search Ads offers a unique way to tap into new audiences and drive valuable installs.

If you are investing in Apple Search Ads, you probably want to make sure that your investment will be worth it. This is why the best way to start should be with a complete overview of everything that's possible with Apple Search Ads.

There is a lot to learn about Apple Search Ads. They have made some big changes recently and as a developer, getting your ads to perform well can be time-consuming and confusing. Here's everything you need to learn to master Apple Search Ads from A-Z.

What Is Apple Search Ads?

Apple Search Ads is the advertising platform that displays your ads in the App Store. It was launched by Apple in September 2017 to support its plans to become a significant mobile advertisement provider. According to Apple’s website;  “Apple Search Ads helps people discover your app when they search on the App Store, matching customers with your app right when they’re looking.”

Where Are Apple Search Ads Available?

Apple Search Ads are available in a lot of countries but there are still some countries where the platform is not available yet. According to the website of Apple Search Ads, advertisers in Apple are still trying to work on making the platform available for all countries.

You can see the list of countries ASA is available in from here.

How Effective Is Apple Search Ads?

The effectiveness of the platform may vary depending on your app, your ads, and your strategy. If utilized correctly, Apple Search Ads is considered to be one of the best ways of advertising your app and the data supports this claim.

As of 2022, App Store has 3.4 million apps and 984,000 games. 500 million people visit the App Store every week, and the reports prove that the platform is successful.

You can read the success stories shared by Apple Search Ads to learn more about how Apple Search Ads works and helps mobile apps reach success.

What is CPT in Apple Search Ads?

CPT is a Cost Per Tap model; this means you pay every time someone taps on your ad. Your CPT is calculated by dividing your total cost by the number of impressions you’ve received.

When bidding, you will set your Max CPT per Ad Group or Keyword Level. You will never be charged more than the Max CPT you set, but might lose out on bids if you do not decrease your CPT enough to be competitive with other advertisers.

What is CPA in Apple Search Ads?

CPA (cost-per-acquisition) is a metric that plays a key role when it comes to measuring the success of your Apple Search Ads campaigns. It mostly affects your bottom line. In order to ensure high ROI levels, you should test multiple ad sets at a time and identify the winning ones. In a way, it is affected by the Tap-Through rate, the Conversion Rate, and your CPT. Any weaknesses during your user acquisition process can end up increasing your acquisition costs.

How Do I Use Apple Search Ads?

You can read our article where we’ve covered how you can use Apple Search Ads and this article where we’ve covered Apple Search Ads optimization

Are Apple Search Ads Just For Apps?

Yes, Apple Search Ads is a platform that’s created for mobile apps. You can only advertise mobile apps and reach users who are searching for mobile apps.

What Is the Difference Between Apple Search Ads Basic And Advanced?

While the Basic option works with the cost-per-install (CPI) model and allows a maximum budget of $10.000 with up to 50 apps; the Advanced model allows much more options. The Advanced section of ASA allows an unlimited budget with an unlimited number of apps and gives full control of your bids and keywords. It allows catering your ads specifically to different audiences, regions, and more. This section also calculates your bids with a cost-per-click (CPC) model. It’s important to note that the Basic version of ASA doesn’t have these options and targets your audience by machine learning.

In other words, the Advanced section of ASA is where everything happens. Because you can display your ads to the users who are looking for your app. To learn more, you can read our blog where we’ve covered the topic in more detail.

How Do I Optimize Apple Search Ads?

You can read our article where we’ve covered how you can use Apple Search Ads and this article where we’ve covered Apple Search Ads optimization

How Does Apple Search Ads Work?

Apple Search Ads allow you to create highly relevant ad groups with one or more keywords, and target them by country, language, device type, and ‘App Category’. Apple App Search generates separate search queries for each of the 24 countries where it is available. The platform works by allowing you to bid on keywords so that your app can appear above organic search results when users type in relevant searches on their iPhones or iPads.


Apple Search Ads lets you set your own budget, target specific audiences, and measure your return on investment (ROI) with real-time data. It's also a great way to get people who have already downloaded your app to come back and use it again.

Depending on your keyword, bidding, and localization strategy, the ad platform helps you reach your potential users this way.


By now, you should be pretty familiar with Apple Search Ads. If you’re just getting started, you know the basics of what it is and how to set it up.  Apple Search Ads is a great way to maximize your App Store Page visibility. Through careful implementation and ongoing optimization, your Apple Search Ads could be one of the most beneficial places to achieve the goals you have for your mobile app.

The platform offers great opportunities for marketers to expand their reach, but diving into it without a strategy can lead to frustration. If Apple Search Ads seem overwhelming to you, don’t worry. We’re here to help. With our expertise in ad creation, you can rest assured that your campaign will be in good hands.

So, if you are interested and would like to know more,

please drop us an email: “hello@getcherry.app

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​​The Art of Acquisition 06: Discover Custom Product Pages & How To Optimize Them

Apple’s App Store is a hub for downloads for iPhone and iPad users, with new software powering more than 1.5 billion iOS devices around the world. But did you know that Apple’s popular mobile storefront also provides app creators with a way to build and promote new apps within its interface? With App Store product pages of iOS 15—which allow marketers to create custom versions of their App Store product page, highlighting specific features or pieces of content on each different page—app makers can reach customers more easily and actively engage with them on a personal level.

The ability to create unique product pages on the App Store is a relatively new feature, but it’s a major benefit nonetheless. This article explains what Custom Pages are, how you can use them, and why they’re important to your app marketing efforts.


Whether your app centers around its stunning visual design, revolutionary idea, or work-saving features and tools - you can share additional or customized information through multiple product page variants. Creating a custom product page for each feature allows you to highlight the benefits of your app while also increasing downloads and app store ratings.

Image Credits: Apple

In the custom product page example shared by App Store, you can see the app named “Mountain Climber” has three custom product pages for their different users, such as bikers, rock climbers, and backcountry hikers.

When Did The Custom Product Pages Upgrade Release?

The app store product pages were revealed by Apple for the first time at the World Wide Developer Conference (WWDC) in June where the release date was announced to befall of 2021. As of now, the feature is available to use.

What Are The iOS 15 Custom Product Page Updates?

* You can use custom product pages in iOS 15 and iPad 15, or later versions.

* On each product page, you can change screenshots, promotional text, and app previews.

* Each custom product page has a different audience with unique URLs.

You can create up to 35 different custom product pages based on your needs.

* While screenshots, promotional text, and app previews can change for each custom product page, the icon of the app will not. Each different product page will display the same logo of the app.

You can watch the video “Getting Started With The Custom Product Pages” on the Apple website.

How To Create And Optimize Custom Product Pages?

1- Determine Your Audience Profiles

Think about the users of your app. When you were creating the app, who was on your mind, and who would benefit from your product? Determine their age, demographics, country, gender, preferences, and interests. Outline how they would engage with your app, in which ways they need it and how they will use it, and create different personas.

2- Create Custom Pages For Each Persona

Based on different audience personas your app has, create a promotional text, app screenshots, or app preview video for each user persona.

3- Open App Store Connect Account

Sign in to your App Store Connect account, select your app, and you will see the “Custom Product Pages” on the left, in the “Features” section.

Upload the screenshots you’ve created, and submit them to be reviewed.

Image Credits: Apple

Product pages allow you to create a highly customized space for the product that you’re displaying. You can easily showcase the most important details, along with additional images, videos, and any other relevant information with the personal segmentation for each user persona.

It is also important to note that testing on a custom store page is not possible. That being said, if you are interested in learning the best ways to build custom store pages for your product or service, you can work with our professional team to maximize your efforts, without having to pay for it. Cherry can help you walk through this process and help you reach your users worldwide.

So, if you are interested and would like to know more,

please drop us an email: “hello@getcherry.app

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App Store 101: An Introduction & Guide For Mobile Developers

Mobile App Stores have become the world’s most dominant online marketplace.

Apple App Store is a powerful engine for the discovery and distribution of digital products. It has enabled many companies and developers to achieve success. With over 50 billion downloads, the Apple App Store is a gold mine of opportunity.

To be a successful app developer, it is important to understand how the app store works. It’s no secret that the process can be quite complicated; so we’re here to break everything down for you.

What Is App Store, How Does It Work?

The Apple App Store is a digital distribution platform used for distributing a mixture of both first-party and third-party apps to iOS, iPadOS, watchOS, tvOS, and macOS. Each ecosystem is locked down to apps on the store except for macOS, where users can still download apps directly from the web.

It has become the single most profitable piece of software in history. It has changed how software applications are distributed and marketed, being responsible for the rise in mobile application development. As a result, the competition has grown fierce with rivals such as Google Play, Amazon Appstore, and Microsoft Store trying to achieve similar levels of success. However, while the store has become more challenging to get an app approved since 2013,  it still remains one of the top three app stores in terms of revenue and growth.

App Store: A Brief History & Fast Facts


When Did App Store Launch?

App Store was launched on July 10, 2008.

How Many Apps Are There In The App Store?

As of 2022, There are 1.96 Million available in the Apple App Store.

How Many Apps Are Free In The App Store?

Currently, 92.3% of the Apps are free in the Apple App Store.

What Are The Most Popular Categories In The App Store?

Game is the top category followed by Business and Education in the Apple App Store. These are the most popular app categories on the platform.

The Approval Process Of The App Store


Do All Apps Have To Be Approved By Apple?

Yes, each app that’s been submitted to App Store is assessed by the review team. Apple wants to create a safe and trusted place for its users, so every app on the Apple App Store should have a certain standard to keep the platform a qualified and reliable place for the audience.

How Long Does It Take To Get App Store Approval?

While the approval process of the Apple App Store usually takes 1-4 weeks, sometimes it can take more than that depending on the app.

Why Would Apple Reject An App?

These are the top three reasons why Apple App Store rejects an app:

1.  Incompleteness Of Metadata & URL’s
2.  Design & Localization Mistakes
3.  Performance: Inaccurate Metadata
(Source: Global App Testing)

Before you submit your app to the App Store, make sure all the information (your name, email, app ID, link, images, and logos of your app) is accurate and true. Besides the main information, you will provide to the app store, make sure to double-check your app’s description, title and subtitle. Each content element of your app should be relevant and complete.

If your app is cleaned from all the crashes and bugs, you should also make sure that you have a strong UI and follow the required guideline properly. Click Apple App Store Review Guidelines to learn more information.


What is TestFlight used for? What is TestFlight in App Store?

TestFlight is the ideal solution for app developers and designers looking to beta test their app or beta test private, enterprise apps. With a variety of ways to send out your invites and valuable information about how testers can best provide input on your product, TestFlight offers all of the tools a developer needs to plan, recruit, and analyze—making it easily the most effective way for mobile app developers to get user feedback.

Is It Free To Use TestFlight?

If you’re beta testing other’s apps, TestFlight is free to use. As a developer, if you’re testing your own app, you should have a developer account to do so, which requires a certain amount of fee. 

How do you use TestFlight on iPhone?

After you’ve installed the App Store Connect, you should send invites to people who will be testing your app. The testers should download TestFlight app and enter the invitation code the app owner sends to them, in order to start testing.


In conclusion, the secret to success in the App Store is understanding it. You can’t just publish an app and hope for the best, you have to plan it and work at it, with a professional team that helps you analyze the store, understand your competition, and leverage your advantage with good planning.

Naturally, as the app store matures, the environment becomes more competitive but with planning and hard work you can still beat the odds. And whenever you need help to market your app and unlock its full potential, Cherry is here for you.

So, if you are interested and would like to know more,

please drop us an email: “hello@getcherry.app

Unlock The Full Potential Of Your App